Patience is a Virtue

Standard

Image

I’m now 5 months into my natural hair journey and if there’s one thing this process has taught me, it’s patience. I was so eager for my hair to grow, and in the beginning it seemed like it was growing at a snails pace. Now it seems to have hit it’s stride and my hair is growing at a rapid speed!  What all of this has made me realize and appreciate is how my scalp needed time to heal – inside and out. I can only imagine the damage I’ve done to my scalp over the past 25+ years of having chemically relaxed hair.  I marvel at how amazing the human body is with its natural ability to heal itself over time. I know my scalp is nowhere near healed. As a matter of fact, I’ve read that it can take up to a year or more for your scalp and hair follicles to heal. More patience is definitely needed.

There are still a few products I’d like to try (like the Aloe Vera gel), that I haven’t gotten around to trying yet. I have a small to do list, and over time I hope to cross those things off. In the mean time I am getting my braids in October and I couldn’t be more excited! I’m getting the beautiful Senegalese twists. This is a style that is typically worn very long, like past the middle of your back but I don’t want mine that long. As always I’ll post pictures. 😉

As I look at the pictures of my hair growth progress from May 2013 until now I have to be honest: I LOVE my big chop picture! I LOVE the short hair! I’ve always loved short hair, and that was the shortest I have ever gone and I loved every minute of it! My husband, on the other hand…he didn’t like it. He got used to it, but he didn’t like it that short. Speaking of hubby, he said I look SEXY with my fro!! Awww sookie-sookie now! HAHAHAAHHA! He’s a sweetie pie. I know this was a lot for him to take in and accept, and over time he did. Now he loves my lop-sided afro as much as I do, lol! Patience was involved once again.

I’ve embraced and will continue to embrace every part of my journey. The highs and lows, ups and downs. I know in my bones I made the best decision and the right decision, and it feels good. I also know that as I continue along and experiment with different styles, not all of them will turn out the way I want them to. I’m not going to have good hair days every day. Patience will always be the number one virtue in this journey.

8 responses »

  1. Great post! I think you’re so right in your posts overall that “less is more.” Question for other readers w hair with texture: How often do you shampoo? I can go daaaaays with just a bit of combing and dry shampoo. Is that weird? 😉

    • Great question veeelite! No it’s not weird at all. I know certain cultures feel that to not shampoo EVERY DAY is a sin when actually for certain hair textures and other cultures it damages the hair when it’s shampooed too often. You’re stripping it of it’s natural oils that it needs which can leave it dry and brittle. It’s important to keep your hair well conditioned no matter what hair texture you have, but I see nothing wrong with letting it go a few days without shampooing.

  2. You’ve got the face for the big chop…beautiful! I’m so pleased to hear that your hair is growing and getting healthy, right along with your scalp! God love your hubby, too! Mine has also been incredibly patient as I try new things and experiment with natural hair. Blessings on your journey! 🙂

    • Thank you Muhala! I always appreciate your encouragement. 🙂 I’m glad we both have been blessed with patient men as we try new things. That’s important to have their support, or at the least makes things easier. I wish you all the best on your journey too! In about two weeks I’ll be getting my Senegalese braids and I’m sooooo EXCITED! I’ll be sure to post pictures. 🙂

  3. Very beautiful pictures. Your brows look fabulous as well! I have never used Aloe Vera Gel either. I’ve heard great things about it though. I currently use Eco Styler and I love it! I was not as brave as you were. I transitioned for 15 months and then cut the permed ends off after I had a good amount of growth. I am 9 months natural and loving it. It really is a journey, and there are days that I feel TERRIBLE because my twist out or braid out came out looking like I had not combed my hair is weeks. Haha. But through trial and error,as with every thing in life, I had to adjust and learn. I am happy to be natural and loving it more and more each day! Good luck on the rest of your hair journey.

    • Thank you as always NickyGoGlam! I’ve heard nothing but good things about Eco Styler from many of my natural friends so I must get some in my life and soon! The big chop was easy for me because I LOVE short hair! I’ve let my hair grow long a few times over the years and never liked it. I did it for my mom and husband. Talk about a labor of love, lol! I’m getting my Senegalese twists in a few weeks and I’m sooo excited! I love braids and the freedom they give you, the rest you can give your hair and the growth that comes from having them. As far as my eyebrows go – THANK YOU SO MUCH! I’ve been having to fill them in and draw them in for so long I can almost do it in my sleep! My oldest sister and I are eyebrow challenged while our other sister has the thick beautiful brows that you can shape anyway you’d like. It’s not fair I tell you! This natural hair journey while at times frustrating, has been very eye opening and exciting. Through friends, strangers, and this blog I’m constantly learning new things and I LOVE IT! I wish you all the best in your journey as well and please keep sharing, it’s very encouraging. 🙂

  4. I am in love with your blog… On that natural hair journey too and I do have to admit, I honestly didn’t see it going this way but theres no ounce of regret there. Love love love what you are doing… 4 months later, lol.. I know but I just had to. Stay awesome 🙂

    • Thank you SO MUCH for your kind words Flawsomeglam! Thank you for reading and posting, I truly appreciate it. It hasn’t been easy, especially when my hair hit that stage where it wasn’t quite long enough for twist outs so my only option was to rock my fro – which I was fine with but I wanted to do MORE with my hair! I just didn’t know WHAT more to do with it!! It made me get creative and stop expecting my hair to miraculously do something on it’s own, lol!! I would love to know more about your journey and what you’re doing – transitioning or did you do the big chop? What are some products that you like to use?

Leave a Reply

