Raw Unrefined African Shea Butter

Standard

Raw Shea Butter Mix

I’ve been wanting to get my hands on some raw unrefined African Shea butter for the longest. I’ve often wondered what the difference was between unrefined and refined Shea butter, and learned that unrefined Shea butter is superior in that it retains all its natural vitamins, especially vitamin A and vitamin E. Refined Shea butter is also good to use but the refining process may diminish the vitamin potency.

I finally ordered 10lbs worth form Amazon.com and when it came I was as giddy as a kid in a candy store! I’m constantly reading and trying to educate myself on what’s good for the hair, natural hair in particular, and one thing that I’ve found is that Shea butter has a lot of wonderful benefits for your hair and skin:

Shea butter has been used to help heal burns, sores, scars, dermatitis, psoriasis, dandruff, and stretch marks. It can also help diminish wrinkles by moisturizing the skin, promoting cell renewal, and increasing circulation. Shea butter also contains cinnamic acid, a substance that helps protect the skin from harmful UV rays.

Shea butter is a particularly effective moisturizer because it contains so many fatty acids, which are needed to retain skin moisture and elasticity. The high fatty acid content of Shea butter also makes it an excellent additive to soap, shampoos, anti-aging creams, cosmetics, lotions, and massage oilsβ€”its soft, butter-like texture melts readily into the skin.

Shea butter protects the skin from both environmental and free-radical damage. It contains vitamins A and E, and has demonstrated both antimicrobial and anti-inflammatory properties. Those are a lot of wonderful benefits!

Next I wanted to know the best way to prepare my Shea butter. I’m not big on making concoctions that require a lot of ingredients. I strongly believe that less is more, so imagine my happiness in learning that when you add too many things to Shea butter it loses it’s potency and effectiveness.

I’ve said it before that YouTube can be a blessing and a curse because there are literally millions of how to videos on everything under the sun, especially when it comes to caring for natural hair. What I searched for in particular was how to make your own hair moisturizer using raw Shea butter. The videos that used more than 3 ingredients I didn’t bother watching. In the end I decided I would use what I already had: Raw Shea butter and organic coconut oil.

The Shea butter arrived to me in a soft and smooth state so it made mixing and whipping it with my hand mixer very easy. I gently melted down some coconut oil on the stove and whipped it up with the hand mixer and then put itΒ into some air tight containers.

My entire family use it for their hair and on their skin and everyone loves how it is softening their hair and skin. My two girls and I have very coarse hair. My 9 year old and I also have very thick hair. What I’ve learned over the years is that heavier oils work better on our hair than light oils. This is why I stuck to using Blue Magic hair grease for so many years on our hair because it worked for us. Now I’ve found something better than Blue Magic to use on our hair – Shea butter. Unlike Blue Magic hair grease you can use Shea butter not only on your hair but also on your skin, and with beautiful results. What a wonderful all natural product to have and keep in your home that your entire family can use!

11 responses »

  1. Hi there! I love, love, love Shea butter! I use the raw African Shea Butter. Like you, my family uses it as well. My son was a bit put off by the smell, but he has come to like it. I love the scent. Do you have any issues with the smell? I have not melted it down at all. Mine didn’t come soft and creamy like yours. It’s pretty firm in the container. But, I just scoop out a bit, and once you rub it in the palm of your hands for while, it warms up and gets soft. It’s funny that you mentioned coconut oil in conjunction with this. I did a post back in January using Shea Butter and Organic coconut oil. the same combo. I used it for a twist out. Here is the link, you can check it out. πŸ™‚
    http://nickygoglam.com/2013/01/09/new-blog-post-shea-butter-and-coconut-oil-twist-out/

    • Thank you, thank you! Yes mine is African Shea Butter, out of Ghana to be exact. I suppose I should’ve stated that in the article. πŸ˜‰ I don’t mind the smell at all. Really the only person in my family that has an issue with the smell is my 9 year old daughter. She doesn’t like the smell but she likes how soft it makes her skin. She keeps asking me to add some essential oils to it to get rid of the smell, but I told her she’d get used to it. Great minds think alike with the organic coconut oil and Shea butter mixture Nicky!! πŸ™‚ I’ve read that it’s not good to melt down the Shea butter, and like I said mine is very soft so there’s no need to melt it, but I keep my organic coconut oil in the fridge so I do have to chop out chunks from that and genlty melt it down. LOVE your blog on the shea and coconut oil for your twist out – what beautiful results you had!!!! I will be trying this on my 11 year old soon. I’ve been doing twist outs on her forever but I haven’t tried it with Shea butter and coconut oil mixture. I’ll keep you posted

      • You;re welcome. LOL at from Ghana to be exact. Hilarious. I must say, it’s been a pleasure having these conversations with you :). I didn’t hear that it was bad to melt it down. I’ve seen so many tutorials on how to do it. I just haven’t done it because it seemed too time consuming. Haha. I can be a bit lazzzzy. I keep my coconut oil in the bathroom. Some days, it’s watery and some days it’s hard, depending on the temperature. Let me know how your daughter’s twists come out! πŸ™‚

  2. ( not to offend or anything) but it could be from the tint from the camera but I don’t believe that is 100% raw Shea butter. Shea butter should be a clayish kinda grey color not yellow. Many places alter and add things to the Shea butter during production which turns them yellow. Or its not even shea butter at all, just African butter. I thought I’d mention it since you seem like you really want to use real unrefined Shea butter. There are a bunch of videos on YouTube and posts online that help naturals avoid buying knock off Shea butters. Black Naps has a really good article too on it. http://blacknaps.org/2010/12/07/is-your-shea-butter-fake/ and DuchessGabrielle on YouTube has a reaaaalllyyy informative video all about it, hope this helps with your next purchase πŸ™‚

    • foreverasiam no offense taken at all!!! This is why I’m blogging to bounce ideas off others and to be informed/educated on my journey and to share my findings. I will definitely look into this more, thank you so much for sharing the link! πŸ™‚

    • Ok I watched both videos and I’ve watched other videos and I guess I just have to use my own judgment and experience with it. I’ve always known that the colors could vary with Shea butter so that was never new to me or an issue for me. I’ve used Shea butter before but only on my skin and I LOVED it. My girlfriend would whip up batches and put nice smelling natural fragrances in them and give them to me as gifts. Hers was the off white color and a bit more solid but still had that distinct Shea butter smell even with light fragrance she would add. I’ve never bought Shea butter from a store, but when I ordered my unrefined Shea Butter online it still had that distinct smell only it was much softer and yes, yellow. The key to me in all of this is that the properties and benefits of African Shea Butter and African Butter (which is what Gabrielle in the video was claiming that yellow Shea butter is – simply African Butter) are basically the same. They both soften your skin and hair, help with blemishes, stretch marks, moisturizes your skin and hair, etc. I do not believe I have “fake” Shea butter at all, and if I do it’s properties and benefits are just as good as the real deal. I’ll keep reading and researching though. πŸ˜‰

  3. Hey hun!!! LMBO, I had to throw Ghana in there because that’s what the place promoted where it came from, LOL! I’ll take their word for it. πŸ˜‰ I should clarify that if it’s unrefined African Shea Butter it’s encouraged to melt it down and strain it in a metal strainer because of the dirt and debris that can sometimes be in it. But if you buy your Shea butter refined (already packaged and manufactured) then there’s no need to melt it down again. With coconut oil it’s recommended to keep in the fridge to extend shelf life so that’s what I do. It melts pretty quickly and easily so it’s no big deal for me when I need to melt some down. I can be lazy too. If there’s too many steps I lose interest. I have 4 kids and two of them are girls so including me that’s three heads of hair I have to do. I’m all about quick and easy unless it’s a special occasion and then I go all out with the hair. Speaking of my girls, I decided to do the braid out for my oldest daughter tonight for school tomorrow with the Shea butter so I’ll let you know how it turns out! I enjoy our conversations too and I love your feedback! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

