Beware of Those Claiming to be Experts

Standard

beware

 

Against my better judgment I got into a “discussion” on a natural hair page on Facebook that I frequent for natural hair tips and style ideas. One day the topic was mineral oils, specifically Blue Magic Hair grease. I’ve spoken about Blue Magic many times in my blog posts and how it has always worked for me and my girls, but since going natural I decided to stop using it in favor of natural, organic oils. I’m over a year into being natural and I’ve discovered that not all of the oils I’ve tried work so well. Some, like raw African Shea butter for an example, leaves our hair looking dusty after using it. Maybe I’m mixing too many other things with it, who knows. But it’s something I’ve noticed, and I don’t like it.

 

Blue Magic

Recently I’ve gone back to using Blue Magic hair grease and here’s why: Curl definition when doing twist outs. Coconut Oil, Jamaican black castor oil, olive oil, argan oil, jojoba oil, African Shea butter – none of these oils used together or separately give our 4c hair the curl definition as Blue Magic does. I’ve used Blue Magic on my girls hair (and my own) for years particularly for twist outs, and their hair has grown and thrived. My attitude now, after a year and some change of being natural, is that it’s ok to go back to basics with some of my hair care routines. Using Blue Magic for certain things is one of them.

I added my two cents worth to the discussion about how I use Blue Magic and why I use it. I was thanked by several posters for my comments because they said they were afraid of being yelled at and ridiculed by the Natural Hair Nazis and the Natural Hair Purists. That angered me a lot. I hate that there are women out there who feel they have the right to judge and criticize other women for what oils or products they use in their hair. One person even said “You might as well go back to getting relaxers if you’re going to put petroleum and other chemicals like Blue Magic in your hair!” Another said “Leave the grease for the cars. Don’t put it in your hair. All it does is clog your pores and cause a host of other problems.” This is true if you use it on a daily basis and don’t keep up a regular shampoo and deep conditioning routine while using a grease as heavy as Blue Magic.

Feeling like a broken record, I stated over and over that everyone has the right to do what works for their hair. If grease of any kind is gross to you or doesn’t work for you, that’s fine. But don’t sit in judgment of those who say that they use grease and it actually works for them! Then there was this one person in particular who kept boasting of her scientific background and even called herself an expert on African American hair. I will add that she’s Caucasian and lives in London.  I’m in no way saying that people of other races can’t be experts on African American hair, but from her comments it was clear that she didn’t understand how or why Blue Magic worked for so many of us African American women. Here’s a snippet of one of her many comments touting her expertise:

I am a qualified hair expert specializing in textured hair and have worked for most of my life for the largest product manufacturers in the world as a product development technician…”

From there all she did was speak on a scientific level on why petroleum and mineral oils are bad for the hair and scalp. She offered no alternatives, no product suggestions or anything of that nature. As I read other articles posted on this natural hair page on Facebook, I noticed this same person posting comments stating that using DIY/YouTube tutorials are bad, and that using “food in your hair” is bad because too much acid can be bad for your hair. She equated any and all DIY methods that involved using food from your kitchen in your hair to self medicating ourselves as though we were doctors and said that we should seek out hair care professionals to care for our hair.  Do you catch the hidden agenda here?

People like her are what I call trolls. I would bet my bottom dollar that this person is nothing more than a beautician who had some extra schooling to study hair, kinky hair in particular, and is targeting natural hair pages on social media to discourage women from caring for their hair themselves. They have nothing of value to add to a discussion but will sit and point out what they feel is “wrong” and then judge those who do it. The overall agenda is to discourage you from having a hands on approach to your hair care but encourage you to seek out licensed professionals like themselves.

I have no issue with people going to licensed beauticians, but the problem here in the U.S. and in London is that there are so few who know how to care for natural kinky hair. This is the very reason why so many women opt to care for their natural hair themselves and seek out YouTube/ DIY channels. Are there aspects of our hair care that should be left to the professionals? Absolutely! My advice is to simply BEWARE. Beware of the internet and social media trolls, and beware of those who claim to be “experts.” Don’t let anyone make you feel ashamed about how you care for your hair, especially if it’s a method or product that happens to work for you. Doing what works for you and your natural hair is all that matters. Just remember that moderation and following a regular hair care routine is key.

P.S.

I’ve switched to using Blue Magic Coconut Oil, and it’s FABULOUS! 😉

Blue Magic Coconut

13 responses »

    • Chile…………..I’m all for open and respectful discussions, especially when it comes to HAIR! But this chick (along with a few others) did nothing but condemn, judge, and brag about her “expertise.” Big long paragraphs worth of bragging hunny! Then she came at me directly with some slick remarks and I had to put Sweet Sonya to the side for a moment and let Hood Sonya come out to play! SHE don’t play that! But what angered me more with that whole topic was the bullying that was taking place from the Natural Hair Nazis towards others who saw nothing wrong with using Blue Magic! These women get behind these computer screens and get all this courage to talk crazy and be mean to others – and for what? We should be helping and encouraging each other, not tearing each other down! So yeah, that’s what “birthed” this particular blog Nicky, and you are too funny girl! 😉

      • Wow. I have definitely seen negativity on blogs, facebook, and especially instagram. Some people prefer a certain hair type and if you don’t have it, even though you are natural, they will shun you, diss you…It’s terrible. And some natural nazi’s tear others down instead of lifting each other up. I can’t even imagine you being ratchet. LOL!! You are always so sweet with your writing.

      • Thank you for your kind words Nicky! I always looked at women with natural hair as a positive thing before I went natural myself. I always felt it was beautiful no matter what grade of hair you had. I had nothing but love and admiration for any and all women who had the courage to rock their natural hair. When I started this blog it was from a place of love and encouragement. I had no idea that this kind of negativity was out there among the natural hair community, that there was this ugliness and bullying and separation based on HAIR TYPE! It’s so stupid and sad! I didn’t know any of this until I started reading and following other blogs on FB and other websites. I refuse to be part of it. And hunny let me tell you…..I try to be kind and positive and peaceful with everyone, but I have limits! Bullying is something I simply will not stand for on any level.

      • You’re welcome! I too looked up to them. I would just look at their hair and wonder, could mine ever look so good. How thick and beautiful it looked and would mine be thick and “pretty” as well. The hatred among the natural hair community. I now stop natural haired women on the street all the time and compliment them and we talk about hair, and products, the struggles. Ohhhhh so many people don’t understand the struggle. We need to uplift each other. xo my blogger friend!! 🙂

  1. Very well said. I too use grease on my hair on occasion. After buying in to all of the propoganda spouted by these so called experts, I started thinking back to my childhood and what my mother used on my hair. She always used grease on our hair and it thrived and grew. Just like grease, oils can also clog the pores. As you stated, it’s all about moderation and having a healthy hair regimen. My hair likes grease and I will continue to use it. I do what’s best for me and I could care less what anyone else thinks. If they are not coming out of their pockets to provide for my products, anything they say is really irrelevant.

    It bothers me that there are people who are so hell bent on putting others down for their choices. How do we know what they are actually doing to their hair when it’s all said and done. I don’t frequent many of these pages or websites anymore for this reason. My motto is to each his/her own. We should be,able to support each other, regardless of the choices we make, instead of tearing each down.

    • iamnaturallykinky you hit the nail on the head! Thank you for your kind and positive words too. Yes, oils can clog your pores as well, not just petroleum or minerals! I would love to see if these natural hair purists are following their own made up rules to the letter of the law as they sit and judge others! These women are sad and pathetic who have entirely too much time on their hands. Being natural is supposed to be a positive and uplifting thing. I was inspired to go natural from seeing so many other sistas with their beautiful natural hair. I saw many who had kinky hair like mine and thought “If they could do it then I can do it too!”

      And like you said, my mom cared for me and my two sisters hair using hair grease from Blue Magic, Royal Crown, Sulfur 8 (when it was super stinky, lol), the list goes on and on. BUT she also had a regular schedule of washing and caring for our hair. She deep conditioned, she used mayo on our hair, eggs, olive oil, she did hot oil treatments on us, and she didn’t always press our hair either. She kept our hair braided or plaited up and our hair thrived and it was very long. So when I think back on what my mom did versus what these natural hair Nazis claim is so bad for our hair, I have to disagree. Moderation and cleanliness is key.

      I’m with you – to each his or her own. If it works for you and your hair then do it! Who cares what anyone else has to say!! 😉

  2. I couldn’t agree more Nicky. We should be uplifting each other, not tearing each other down about our product choices or how we care for our hair! No two heads are alike, and no two heads react the same to certain products. People need to get over themselves. @ IamNaturallyKinky, thanks hun! 😉

  3. Hey girls, most of the popular oils/ butters did not work for me. I’m also allergic to cocoa butter and aloe vera. I’m currently liking organic muru muru butter for hair and skin. The pequi, acai oil and organic ojon oil from the rain forest are good for frizzy hair.. They could be purchased on etsy. The majority of the products on the market irritate my skin even the natural/ organic ones. Most hair products leave my hair looking dry and dusty because it causes a lot of product build up.

  4. Hi K! Thank you for your comment. I’ve heard of muru muru oil and the other’s you’ve mentioned. I think my oldest daughter is allergic to certain organic oils as well – particularly coconut oil – so I’ve had to change and adjust what I use on her. I’ve also found that not all oils have the best results on my hair. Argan, jojoba, are light oils that really don’t do much for my hair. I need the heavier butters and oils, and I’ve learned that I have mix things together so I don’t get that dull, dusty look to my hair. I also make sure to wash my hair once a week. I’ll definitely be looking into the other oils you’ve mentioned! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  5. The argan, jojoba, coconut and other oils irritated my scalp. I’m still trying out more organic butters/oils. Red rasperry oil is good to strengthen hair. On etsy, they sell african Mafura, manketti, marula oil , watermelon seed oil for natural hair. The Mafura butter could be used as a conditioner. I never tried it. These could be bought on etsy or vitae organics. The owner gave me diy recipes for my hair type.I got free samples of various oils for free, but you have to order an oil. Please let me know how it goes.

  6. This is why I love blogging! I’m learning something new all the time about all these different oils! Thank you so much for sharing this with me and anyone else who may read this K! 🙂

Leave a Reply

