Back To School Hair Preparation

Standard

Living in the Midwest, school usually starts a month after the rest of the country.  School started the day after the Labor Day holiday, and let me tell you……the prior two weeks were nothing but sheer STRESS for my husband and I! Some of it was self inflicted, and some of it we had no control over. There was a lot of last minute shopping involved, getting hair done, etc. My oldest daughter will be 13 soon and she’s in 7th grade. She wanted box braids and her grandma made sure her grand baby got what she wanted. My 10 year old daughter didn’t want braids. She wanted to rock her natural hair. Before you go “Awwwwww…” I’m going to keep it very real:  My 10 year old HATES getting her hair braided. She hates sitting, and she’s tender headed even if you’re not braiding too tight. At the same time, she does love her natural hair and wearing twist outs and puffs.

After washing, deep conditioning and oiling my oldest daughter’s hair Friday night, I took her to the African hair braiding shop early Saturday morning to get her box braids.  It took 6 hours, which wasn’t bad at all. Monday (the Labor Day holiday) was when I did the whole wash, deep condition, oil, twist up routine with my 10 year old. I also used that opportunity to really look at my daughter’s curl pattern while finger detangling her hair with conditioner in it. She has lovely springy coils that I’m soooo envious of!

I’ve also promised myself to put the wide tooth comb down and finger detangle our hair instead of combing it out, and I must say each time it’s becoming easier and easier to do. You have to be patient and willing to take the time to do it. In any case, I was very happy with my daughter’s braids and how beautifully they turned out, and I was happy with my 10 year old’s twist out results and the different ways she’s been wearing it to school. I hope all who have kids in school have a wonderful school year!

The girls hair

2 responses »

  1. Very cute kiddos! Looks like your oldest daughter has dimples too? (I’m jelly. I’ve always wanted dimples. I told my ex b/f that he didn’t know what to do with his dimples and to give them to me!)

  2. Awww thanks Anjie! And yes she has dimples too, lol! Honestly for years I hated my dimples because of the attention they brought to me. I was scared of people as a child and didn’t understand their fascination with my cheeks, lol! I didn’t start to appreciate them until I was much older. 🙂

Leave a Reply

