Confessional: I Have a Bald Spot! *GASP*

Standard

Oh the horror

Remember when I was going through my bantu knot phase so I could rock my curly fro at my new job? Well apparently I was knotting my hair a little too tightly because I discovered much later that I had a small bald spot about the size of a nickel towards the front of my hair! I can admit that I can be very heavy handed when it comes to my hair (and my girls) BUT I’m learning to be more gentle. Now that I think back on it, I was indeed making my bantu knots in that particular area of my head very tight. What I did not realize was the damage that can be done when doing a style repeatedly (every day almost) and too tightly.

To say that I was horrified when I discovered this bald spot would be an understatement. Anyone who knows me know that I always think about the worst case scenario: Do I have female pattern baldness? Am I going bald? Is this alopecia? I. Freaked. Out. Then I calmed down and remembered one of the many beneficial uses of Jamaican Black Castor oil, and I began to apply it to my small bald spot every day, and guess what? I see hair growth! Slowly but surely my little bald spot that was as bare as a babies bottom now has growth since using Jamaican Black Castor oil on it every day.

Moral of the story: BE GENTLE to your natural hair. Do not pull, comb, or manipulate your hair roughly. And in my case, you do not have to pull your brains out to have a nice, curly bantu knot twist out!

6 responses »

  1. girrrl youre not alone! I have been so rough with my hair, to be honest still am. its hard to stop once thats what youre use to, teasing everyday and combing vigorously. But I found some awesome products Monat and strengthened the roots of my hair, not having any lose hair at all, evne though i’m stil not the most gentle to my hair! http://bestshampoothinninghair.com/

    • Hi inzhirov! Thank you for sharing that, and you are so right, old/bad habits are hard to break. BUT losing hair because of my old/bad habits isn’t cool either! I’m definitely more mindful of how I handle my hair and my girls hair now. Thanks for the link for the shampoo, I will definitely check that out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

