Bald Spot Update

Standard

Hello again! Since my last update, I’ve seen much more growth on my bald spot. It barely looks like a bald spot anymore, which is very awesome! It’s definitely been a slow process, but I’m seeing progress and that keeps me hopeful!

I’ve added some things to my hair care routine:

  1. Pumpkin Seed Oil
  2. Jamaican Black Castor Oil
  3. Olive oil

Pumpkin seed oil promotes hair growth and helps with dandruff, among other things. I’ve been using it on my scalp mixed with the JBCO. In a spray bottle I mix olive oil and water and I spritz my hair/scalp with it every night before I go to bed and then twist or plait my hair up for the night. Lately I’ve only been plaiting up my hair because I like how it naturally stretches my hair.

I’ve always had a problem with dandruff and itchy scalp, which leads to me scratching my scalp (and I have naturally long nails, and we all know that nails are the DEVIL for our scalp!) which can cause sores and scabs if I scratch too hard or too long in the same spot. I haven’t done this in a while, but I know it can happen. With the weather turning colder and drier, I’m experiencing the itchy scalp again. I think it’s time for me to switch up my shampoo and use a dandruff shampoo (i.e. Selsun Blue, Sulfur 8, Head & Shoulders, Neutrogena T/Sal, etc.) and sooth my scalp with pure, organic Aloe Vera juice.

Dealing with breakage has definitely taught me gentleness and patience when it comes to my natural hair. I have not been over-styling, combing, or pulling on my hair. I let my hair be as much as possible. I do need to get more creative with some protective styles that don’t involve having braids being installed. Currently I’m stuck on rocking the head band, to my husband’s dismay, lol! (See photo collage) However, with the cold winter months upon us, I need to tuck away my hair more versus wearing it out.

Collage2

In the black and white photo my hair was in a true mega shrinkage/afro state, and I loved it! The top left photo is more recent (ok I took it today!) and you can see the difference in how it’s more stretched out from me plaiting it. So yeah, I need to get more creative with my hair styles like some cute updo’s. I’ll keep you posted!

I’ve also found some wonderful information regarding the different causes of hair loss and solutions from a website I stumbled upon called Hair Sentinel. Check it out!

http://www.hairsentinel.com/itchy-scalp-hair-loss.html

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I definitely use the black Jamaican castor oil – salt free. Since I work out so much and sweat which causes salt that can break the hair, I use the salt free.

    I also agree with letting the hair be. The less I fuss with it the more it grows…and I get more comfortable on how it looks, falls, and just is.

    Great post!

    • Awww thanks Princess Akeema! How have you been girl? I hope well! And the salt free is good to know! My 11 year old daughter’s hair is really growing because we don’t fuss with it much. My 14 year old – need I say more? She’s a teenager and she’s CONSTANTLY in her hair which is why she isn’t seeing the results that she wants. Her hair is healthy, but it could be healthiER is she kept her hands and combs out of it so much and just LET IT BE!! Thanks for your comment hun! 🙂

Leave a Reply

