I’m pro do whatever gives you confidence when it comes to your hair. Personally, I have never had any interest in loc extensions, even when I first started on my loc journey. I knew my hair would grow and it would take time and patience. Plus I wanted to experience the entire loc journey.

Last week there was a picture posted in one of the loc groups I belong to and in the comments someone mentioned that people are posting pictures of their loc growth (before and after pics) but fail to mention that they have extensions. My mind was blown! I know people get extensions left and right. But what’s not talked about are those who LIE about their extensions but post photos of their “loc growth” and they’ve only been locked two or three years and their hair is to their bra strap or beyond. I always assumed that they started off with long hair because some people do, or their hair grows really fast. Call me naive.

No one is obligated to yell from the rooftops that they have loc extensions. But don’t act like your hair did all this growing when it didn’t! A lot of women get easily discouraged because they see someone who started their loc journey the same time they did but the other person’s hair is much longer than theirs. First of all, stop comparing your hair growth or loc journey to someone else’s! Everyone’s hair grows at a different pace. We all have different genes. And we have to remember that not everyone is going to be honest.

Now I wish I had a trained eye that can spot loc extensions! These services are being advertised everywhere on social media, Youtube, Pinterest, and in local advertisements for loc shops. You can’t get away from loc extensions which tells me that they are way more popular than I think. Here I am thinking everyone started from scratch like me and went through all the phases and was patiently waiting for the growth to happen when in reality, a lot of people are getting loc extensions! That really bums me out – but it shouldn’t.

Everybody’s loc journey is different. People are going to do things to their hair to make themselves feel good and confident. Most people who get loc extensions eventually cut them out as their real hair grows. And loc extensions need maintenance and most people don’t realize that. Also, if they are not installed properly or if quality hair isn’t used, they can look raggedy quickly. There’s a lot to consider before getting loc extensions. At the end of the day, it’s not cool to lie about your hair growth when you really have extensions. You’d be better off not saying anything than lying, and if you must say something, then be honest.

Leave a comment